4/4 coming back for advice about ketosis

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
Lindy
Contributor
Contributor

4/4 coming back for advice about ketosis

Post by Lindy »

Hello everyone, I'm a recycled newbie, of sorts. I joined the list several years ago, learned a great deal from the wise and kindly mentors on the list, adopted the Bredesen protocol, make my own mostly-veg-with-fish and healthy fat meals, avoid sugar and keep glucose low, exercise every day,etc. Thanks to all of you for your advice and for keeping this resource open. I apologize for this long entry and hope future ones will be more concise.

I'm back here because with my insanely busy job teaching and running a large graduate program, I am battling brain fog and my short-term memory is awful. This makes work conversations with younger co-workers difficult, to say the least, and really feels like a downward spiral after years of this kind of work, so I decided to retire at the end of this academic year.

I recently took one of those online cognitive quizzes by Biogen and Eisai (who may have a stake in my answers, to be sure). My answers to two of the six questions pointed to mild cognitive impairment. Those had to do with 1. forgetting things, including important appointments or social events (multiple times a week; I check my calendar all the time but get distracted in the moment in the press of work, until a coworker reminds me or I just plain miss the event or go late), and 2. losing train of thought or the thread of conversations, books, or movies (multiple times a week, and when I'm watching a popular podcast series with my spouse, he remembers every detail and I lose track of the characters and plot). So maybe I'm skirting the edge of MCI. Or maybe I'm just tired out from working so hard. Or watching the wrong series. Or just getting old (65 this year).