Introduction - would like to meet scientists/biotech folks involved in ApoE research

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
petri.d
Contributor
Contributor

Introduction - would like to meet scientists/biotech folks involved in ApoE research

Post by petri.d »

Hi,

I recently sequenced my genome and discovered I'm homozygous for the ApoE4 polymorphism (E4/E4). I also have other mutations, besides ApoE4, that further increase my chances of developing Alzheimer's.

I'm 44 yrs. old and a molecular biologist by training. I have a PhD and currently lead the research for a biotech company developing a treatment for brain cancer.

I'd like to use my free time to work on drugs and therapeutics to mitigate the effects of ApoE4. Eventually, I'd like to start a company.

I am new to the ApoE and Alzheimer's field. I am trying to learn quickly but still have a long way to go. I would really like to meet other scientists and folks involved in biotech who are working on ApoE therapeutics.

If there are any scientists/researchers on this website please let me know as I'd love to connect!

Thank you!
Tincup
Mod
Mod

Re: Introduction - would like to meet scientists/biotech folks involved in ApoE research

Post by Tincup »

petri.d wrote: Mon Dec 06, 2021 11:54 am I am new to the ApoE and Alzheimer's field. I am trying to learn quickly but still have a long way to go. I would really like to meet other scientists and folks involved in biotech who are working on ApoE therapeutics.

If there are any scientists/researchers on this website please let me know as I'd love to connect!
Welcome petri.d !

I'm going to tag
Julie G wrote:
so she sees this, as she travels in these circles and may be able to make some connections between you and some of the researchers.
Tincup
E3,E4
ro.oconnor
Contributor
Contributor

Re: Introduction - would like to meet scientists/biotech folks involved in ApoE research

Post by ro.oconnor »