Hoping for answers

Newcomer introductions, personal anecdotes, caregiver issues, lab results, and n=1 experimentation.
2copies@43
Contributor
Contributor

Hoping for answers

Post by 2copies@43 »

Hello there. I am a 45 year old female with two copies of apoe4. I have been clean and sober for almost 9 years and quit smoking 8 years ago. I'm a vegetarian. I have recently started eating a bit more healthy adding a lot more vegetables into my diet rather than carbs. I have a weakness for baked goods. I take 30 different supplements three times a week 20 of them or for my cognition. I do not exercise as much as I should. I should be honest that I have a junior high school education. I did graduate high school but did not go to a normal high school. I attended a residential girls school for Girls with family problems or girls who were Wayward in some way shape or form. I spent my whole adolescence there. Anyway, I never learned algebra I think when I graduated they just felt bad for me and passed me. I feel ashamed and disclosing this information about myself but I feel I need to be honest if I want honest answers. My birth mother who I have recently found has MS and also has been diagnosed with early dementia she is 58 years old. I have a six-month-old son at home who will not have any copies of apoe4 from me. We do not share the same genetics. It does not make him any less mine. I went to a Cardiologist yesterday because I have calcification that was found in my heart arteries on a recent CAT scan I had of my lungs to follow lung nodules probably from all my years of smoking. The cardiologist seems to know a lot about apoe4. She told me I can change my genetics by simply doing the opposite of what I would usually do. She told me when I watch TV watch it in Spanish and read English subtitles. She told me when I'm driving home to take a new way home everyday. She told me she doesn't know of any evidences supplements can prevent dementia she. She referred me to the Depar