Experienced newbie

A primer for newbies and old pros alike.
Lingling
Contributor
Contributor

Experienced newbie

Post by Lingling »

Let me start off my saying I am a social worker for people with Alzheimer’s and dementia so I know all about this tragic disease.
My paternal grandfather had AD and now my father has had a recent diagnosis of MCI but new scans show Biomarkers for AD, he is 81.
So I toyed with checking the box on 23 and me for Apoe and now it’s glaring at me with results that look like gibberish but I know I must have a gene or variant based on all these numbers.
Is there a guide somewhere to decipher these results while I sit here and take deep breaths?
Thanks in advance.
Tincup
Mod
Mod

Re: Experienced newbie

Post by Tincup »

Lingling wrote: Thu Dec 01, 2022 7:48 pm Is there a guide somewhere to decipher these results while I sit here and take deep breaths?
Welcome!

Not sure what output you are looking at. One way to do this, at least on a computer (never tried on a phone) is to log in to 23andMe. Then click your name in the upper right. Then select Browse Raw Data.

You can then separately search for these two SNPs:
rs429358
rs7412

You can then find out what each SNP is for you. In my case, as an ApoE 3/4
rs429358 C/T
rs7412 C/C

Taking the C from the rs429358 and first C from rs7412 gives CC or ε4
Then taking the T from the rs429358 and last C from rs7412 gives TC or ε3

Hence I'm a ApoE 3/4 (the order here doesn't matter).

Here is the table from this page.

rs429358 rs7412 Name
C T ε1
T T ε2
T C ε3
C C ε4

In their reports (again on a computer), if you go to
Health and Traits
then
Health Predisposition
then
Late-Onset Alzheimer's Disease
mine says
you have one copy of the ε4 variant we tested

Or the same thing I figured out up above.
Tincup
E3,E4
Lingling
Contributor
Contributor

Post by Lingling »