4/4 mom is showing signs. Now what?

Alzheimer's, cardiovascular, and other chronic diseases; biomarkers, lifestyle, supplements, drugs, and health care.
kayakmac08
Contributor
Contributor

4/4 mom is showing signs. Now what?

Post by kayakmac08 »

Hi all,

My 4/4 mom, 62, is now showing enough signs of memory loss that my stepdad and Mom's best friend are planning to raise their concerns and urge my mom to seek medical attention. I've been talking to my mom for the last 2 years about AD prevention (although not raising concerns about her actually being on the path toward AD, although I suspected that was the case) and she has employed some of the lifestyle changes we've discussed. At this point I'm wondering what next steps should be, and what my role should be in supporting her moving forward. I guess my question is: What do you do once the MCI/AD is starting to show itself in a loved one and you were already beating the prevention drum? What's next? I think a cognoscopy is needed, but not sure what else in the realm of diagnostics or standard of care treatment should be recommended. And how should those things be balanced with continued (or even intensified) pursuit of functional medicine strategies? She has some glaring "holes in her roof" - most notably in the realms of exercise and cholesterol management. Obviously it's not my ultimate responsibility and what she does is totally her choice and I'll support her emotionally no matter what. But wondering about the most efficacious path forward with someone who's already starting to become symptomatic for AD. I think it's plausible that reversal (or at least stabilization or slowed decline) is possible, but I also want to spend my relational capital wisely and not bombard with suggestions or torment with false hopes. Any advice is appreciated. Would love to hear from folks who have been through something similar.

Best,
Justin
  • 4/4 male, born 1989
  • Status discovery: 2020