Ozempic

Alzheimer's, cardiovascular, and other chronic diseases; biomarkers, lifestyle, supplements, drugs, and health care.
QueenJane
Contributor
Contributor

Ozempic

Post by QueenJane »

Hi, All - first time poster, long time lurker, and yes! - I’ve read the wiki and the primer. Today, I’m seeking your insights on the prosepct of taking Ozempic or Wegovy as preventatives. I’ve heard that metformin can contribute to longevity and brain health, though I’m guessing that’s primarily in in ppl with Type 2 diabetes? I’m wondering if these other two diabetes treatments would be helpful. I would love to lose 15lbs, that’s true, and these meds are being used widely for weight loss, but the main issue I’m struggling with is the sugar cravings I’m experiencing with the end stages of perimenopause. I’ve been doing IF for 4 years, and I’m now skirting around keto, and the first two weeks of my cycle are manageable, but then the cravings skyrocket, and fasting and keto go out the window. I’ve never been in that place before with my body in my life.

So, I’m thinking these meds might be helpful. I know that many ppl on them lose sugar cravings altogether and can fast for long periods of time. They lower blood sugar and cholesterol, they prevent plaque build up in the arteries in the brain...So, what do you all think about Ozempic? Metformin? Thanks!
Tincup
Mod
Mod

Re: Ozempic

Post by Tincup »

QueenJane wrote: Fri Feb 17, 2023 8:45 am Today, I’m seeking your insights on the prosepct of taking Ozempic or Wegovy as preventatives.

So, I’m thinking these meds might be helpful. I know that many ppl on them lose sugar cravings altogether and can fast for long periods of time. They lower blood sugar and cholesterol, they prevent plaque build up in the arteries in the brain...So, what do you all think about Ozempic? Metformin? Thanks!
Welcome Jane!