aricept and ReCode

Alzheimer's, cardiovascular, and other chronic diseases; biomarkers, lifestyle, supplements, drugs, and health care.
Stefan
Contributor
Contributor

aricept and ReCode

Post by Stefan »

Aricept and other cholinesterase inhibitors are currently prescribed against Alzheimers. From the Info I gathered it is clear, that there are no positive long term effects, e.g. a 2017 Canadian review study, https://www.healthline.com/health-news/ ... ine-091713
As a brain coach I work for a conventional GP with a 61 y old female patient with MCI, taking Aricept. The patient wants to take it, as it is prescribed by the neurologist, the GP doesn't know.
Does somebody know if Appolo Health and Dr. Bredesen recommend doing the ReCode with or without Aricept. Thanks
TheresaB
Mod
Mod

Re: aricept and ReCode

Post by TheresaB »

Do you have Dr Bredesen’s first book, The End of Alzheimer’s? He discusses Aricept (donepezil) in numerous places, mostly its temporary efficacy and drawbacks, including this:
First, blocking the breakdown of acetylcholine does not affect the cause or progression of Alzheimer’s disease. The disease therefore still progresses. Second, the brain often responds to inhibition of cholinesterase as you might expect: by making more cholinesterase. That obviously limits the drugs’ efficacy (and can become a real problem if the drug is stopped suddenly). Third, like all drugs, cholinesterase inhibitors have side-effects; they include diarrhea, nausea and vomiting, headache, joint pain, drowsiness, loss of appetite, and bradycardia (slowed heart rate).
Further in the book he cautions that sudden cessation could result in increased cognitive decline.

Dr Bredesen also cites that that most primary care providers default to writing a prescription for Aricept because they don’t know how to fully evaluate the patient and they’ve been taught there is no truly effective therapy.